Annual meeting review

Posted on May 25 2017 in Southern Indiana Power


The 78th annual meeting was held at the Spencer County Youth and Community Center on April 18.

More than 550 members registered, and we issued 989 meal tickets for members and their families. Over 160 children attended and entered their names for the kids’ prize drawing.

For those of you who missed the meeting, I’ll give a brief recap of events. The annual meeting featured attractions for all ages. Young members enjoyed pony rides, face painting and bucket truck demonstrations. Children could also register to win Holiday World & Splashin’ Safari tickets.

Members talked with Southern Indiana Power employees about energy efficiency issues, watched a live electric line demo, and played BINGO. Food, ice cream, soft drinks and popcorn were provided throughout the evening.

During the business meeting, Gary Waninger and Dirk Stein were re-elected to represent Districts 3 and 4. Joe Boesing, of Monroe Shine accounting firm, reviewed the 2016 financial report.

During my report, I recognized our employees for receiving the NRECA National Standard of “Safety Achievement” annually since 2008. I also explained some changes in the co-op’s Capital Credit Retirement program. In 2016, we paid back over $350,000 in capital credits to members  who received electric service between 1988 and 1989.

I also updated members on the 1 MW solar project, which was a joint effort between Southern Indiana Power, Dubois REC and our power supplier, Hoosier Energy, as part of our “all-of-the-above” approach to producing clean, reliable and affordable electricity for our members.

This year, I recognized our local students who are participating in our state and regional youth programs, including Youth Power And Hope Awards; Indiana Youth Tour to Washington, D.C.; and Touchstone Energy Camp. More details about these outstanding students will be published in later issues of the Electric Consumer.

I wrapped up my comments by briefly updating members on planned system improvements, upcoming regional membership meetings, status of the EPA’s Clean Power Plan, an electric rate forecast, member energy efficiency programs, and our Co-op Connections Card savings program. We also showed a video that explained the seven cooperative principles and how Southern Indiana Power operates by these important principles.

Gary Waninger, Operation Round Up board chairman, presented the March 2017 ORU award winners. A list of winners and photos will be published in an upcoming issue.

The meeting ended with a drawing for door prizes. Pund Family Partnership won the $500 grand prize. There were also four winners of $250 cash and 20 winners of $50 bill credits. Tyler Kleaving and Aden Schwartz each won four tickets to Holiday World & Splashin’ Safari in the children’s prize drawing. The 20 members who won while playing bingo each received an energy efficiency kit.

STEVE SEIBERT is president/CEO of Southern Indiana Power.


Annual meeting prize winners

  • $500: Pund Family Partnership
  • $250: Fred Obermeier
  • $250: Donald Feuerbach
  • $250: Darrel Elmer
  • $250: Yoneko Bertke

$50 bill credit winners

  • Brent Kellems
  • Virginia Epple
  • John Bethel
  • Eric Rahman
  • William Morgan
  • Brent Beier
  • Barbara Lathrop
  • Jeff Hassfurther
  • Carroll Frields
  • Anthony Hubert
  • Sharon Schaefer
  • Larry Ferguson
  • Sewell Connor
  • Deborah Bland
  • Kenneth Goldman
  • John VanWinkle
  • Linda Bowman
  • Justin Kraus
  • Jerry McKain
  • Paul Hubert

Kids’ prizes

  • 4 Holiday World tickets: Tyler Kleaving
  • 4 Holiday World tickets: Aden Schwartz

Bingo winners

Each of the 20 members who won a round of bingo received a tote containing energy-efficient products.

Director elections

During the 2017 annual meeting, directors Gary Waninger and Dirk Stein were re-elected to represent Districts 3 and 4.