Nominations Sought for 2024 Election

Posted on Nov 18 2023 in Bartholomew County REMC

Have you ever been interested in becoming part of the governing body at Bartholomew County REMC?

BCREMC’s board of directors and nominating committee members are elected yearly by the members during the annual meeting.

Directors are responsible for establishing, reviewing, and revising corporate policies to ensure that Bartholomew County REMC continues to keep service to the membership foremost in mind, while maintaining a stable, yet competitive, position in the industry by setting rate structures for the membership.

Nominating committee members are responsible for finding candidates to run for the board of directors and the committee. They are also responsible for counting votes and overseeing and certifying the election.

Each member of the board and nominating committee represents one of the seven districts within the territory served by the REMC. Those elected to serve are dedicated people who have the interests of all members and the cooperative at heart.

The nominating committee of Bartholomew County REMC will meet on Thursday, Jan. 11, at 11:30 a.m. to select candidates for the election which will occur for the board of directors and the nominating committee for Districts 1 and 4. Directors and nominating committee personnel will be elected at the BCREMC annual meeting, June 13, 2024.

In 2024, elections will be held for Districts 1 and 4. District 1 is all of German Township. Larry Hoeltke is the current director representing this district and Bill Read is the nominating committee person.

District 4 is all of Rockcreek Township, the part of Clifty Township south of SR 46 E, all the area served within Geneva Township of Jennings County, the area served within Jackson Township of Decatur County and the area of Clay Township, Decatur County, which is south of SR 46 E. Brett Glick is the current director representing this district and Nathan Arnholt is the nominating committee person.

Any BCREMC member who has primary residency in these two districts, who wishes to be considered as a director or nominating committee candidate, may contact the BCREMC office at 812-372-2546, e-mail or contact one of the following members of the nominating committee: Bill Read, Tom R. Finke, Tim Loyd, Nathan Arnholt, Cory Arnholt, Lisbeth Decker, or JoAnne Flohr.