Meet your board candidates

Posted on May 20 2024 in LaGrange County REMC

Every year, as a member of LaGrange County REMC, you have the opportunity to vote for your board of directors. This year includes two uncontested races.


Tony Bontrager represents members in District 3 and is the secretary/treasurer of the board. He holds both a Credentialed Cooperative Director certificate and a Board Leadership Certificate from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA).

He is a graduate of Ball State University and works as the vice president of Pulver Cove Associates. Bontrager also serves the community as president of the LaGrange County Community Foundation and attends New Life Fellowship in Topeka.

He enjoys traveling, biking, swimming, and games with his kids. He and his wife, Lauren, and their four kids live in LaGrange.


Cliff Hibbs serves District 4. He has earned the Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificate through NRECA. He has served on the board since January 2018.

Hibbs is an officer with the LaGrange County Sheriff’s Department. He and his wife, Sandy, and their family reside near Shipshewana. The couple have four children and two grandchildren.

The Hibbses are members of New Life Fellowship in Topeka. Hibbs enjoys camping, working on classic vehicles and spending time with family.

Voting for the board of directors will take place like last year. Members will be mailed ballots by the middle of May. An online voting option is available if you have an email address attached to your account (an email will be sent to you with details).

Ballots must be received by June 5.


In mid-May, every LaGrange County REMC member will receive a letter in the mail outlining the instructions on how to vote either by sending in the included ballot or by going online.

To vote by mail, simply check the boxes next to your choice of candidate in each district, tear off the ballot portion and mail it in the provided prepaid envelope.

If you have your email address attached to your account, you will receive an email the day the election opens (May 8) to walk you through how to vote online. Otherwise, the ballot sent to each member in May will also include information on how you can vote online, making it even easier to cast your vote.

Mail-in and online ballots will need to be received by noon on Wednesday, June 5, to be counted.

Members who vote for the LaGrange County REMC board of directors online will receive a $10 bill credit (one credit per account). Members who vote by mail will receive a $5 bill credit (one credit per account).

Results of the voting will be announced at the LaGrange County REMC Annual Meeting on Friday, June 7. Join us for food, fellowship and community booths at our office from 4–6 p.m. You can RSVP on the ballot!