Director petitions now available

Posted on Nov 28 2017 in Harrison REMC

Being a member of an electric co-op is a unique opportunity to be part of the decision-making process in a business.

Because Harrison REMC is a cooperative, it is owned by its members. That means members are responsible for voting for fellow members to take leadership positions on the board of directors.

Each April, Harrison REMC holds an annual meeting for members to attend. This meeting includes an update on the co-op and the electric industry as well as the election of directors for the districts that are up for re-election.

How are director candidates nominated?

In accordance with the bylaws, all new director nominees must be nominated by a petition signed by at least 20 members of the cooperative who are at least 18 years old.

For the purpose of the petition, a husband and wife shall be deemed one member. Petition forms will be available at the office of the REMC during regular business hours starting Dec. 1. The REMC petitions must be completed and filed with the REMC office by Jan. 20, prior to the annual meeting of the cooperative. In lieu of a petition, incumbent board members may file a written notice at the office of the cooperative by Jan. 20. REMC districts 1, 8 and 9 are up for election at the 2018 annual meeting.

  • District 1: New Albany and Georgetown townships in Floyd County
  • District 8: Heth and Washington townships and the area of Harrison Township south of State Road 62 and west of State Road 135 in Harrison County
  • District 9: Boone and Webster townships in Harrison County

More information regarding the election process was printed in the November issue of Electric Consumer and is currently available on the REMC website,