Annual meeting recap

Minutes of the 79th annual meeting of Marshall County REMC

Posted on Apr 20 2017 in Marshall County REMC

Members of Marshall County REMC elected directors to the cooperative’s board of directors at the annual meeting.

The meeting was called to order by Robert Broeker, chairman of the board of directors. The minutes were recorded by Jon Rettinger, secretary of the board of directors. William Fortin and David Fortin — representing the Stevens, Travis and Fortin law firm — served as parliamentarians.

Broeker welcomed the members and requested them to stand for the playing of the national anthem. Broeker led members in the Pledge of Allegiance. William Fortin, corporate attorney led the invocation. Broeker recognized Jonas Standley and thanked him for playing the piano.

Broeker introduced the board of directors; Mark Batman, CEO; William Fortin and David Fortin, attorneys and parliamentarians; and himself, chairman and director.

Broeker introduced our guests: Sharon Baker and Jeanette Surratt of Wabash Valley Power Association; Tom Van Paris, CEO of Indiana Electric Cooperatives; Richard Biever, senior editor of Electric Consumer; Gary Gerlach, director from Carroll White REMC and IEC; and Chris Lee representing Congresswoman Jackie Walorski.

Rettinger read the proof of mailing of the official notice of the 79th Annual Meeting and the certificate of voting members. The approved membership on March 4 was 7,205 with 1,066 members receiving service at two or more places. The quorum is 2 percent or 123 members. He stated a quorum was present consisting of 278 members registered.

Broeker asked the members if they wanted the minutes of the 78th annual meeting read, or if they would like to waive the reading and approve them as mailed.

A motion was made by Mike Boys and seconded by Nick Orloff to approve the minutes of the 78th annual meeting as mailed to each member with their official notice. Motion carried.

Broeker recognized the nominating committee: Steve Martin, chairman; Craig Hawley, secretary; Betty Wade; Dean Zechiel; Eldon Amor Sr.; Lewis Leeper; Lowell Seymour; Dale Schultz; and John Newsom. David Fortin read the minutes of the nominating committee held on Jan. 13.  The following members were nominated for director by the committee: Richard Leeper, Tim McCarthy, Steve Roberts and Dean Zechiel.

Broeker stated that the bylaws provide for nominations from the floor. No names were offered.

Broeker stated the program had a brief biography of the candidates introduced them to the members.

Rettinger reviewed and discussed the 2016 financial report. He noted that purchased power accounted for 56.46 percent of operating costs and that operating costs for the REMC had remained stable for the past several years while noting the balance sheet details. He stated the financial records are audited by The London Witte Group and that the auditors discussed the REMC finances with the board of directors.

A motion was made by Linda Starr and seconded by Bruce Hollett to approve the financial report for calendar 2017. Motion carried.

David Fortin read the results of the member balloting for directors. He stated that Richard Leeper and Steve Roberts were re-elected to the board of directors for three-year terms.

Broeker thanked the director candidates for their commitment to the REMC and for participating in the election process.

A short video was presented recognizing the REMC employees. Batman thanked the employees for their dedicated service and commitment to the cooperative.

Batman gave the manager’s report. He discussed the current developments with the Clean Power Plan and its impact of the utility market. He also discussed cooperative rates, vegetation management, the work plan, Youth Tour, Touchstone Energy Camp and developments with the REMC smart device app.

Broeker opened the meeting to new and old business. He responded to questions from the membership.

A drawing was held for 26 door prize awards.  A volunteer from the audience assisted with the drawing.

Katherine Kersey won the children’s grand prize, a Samsung Tab E Lite.

Following the business session, The Maxinkuckee Singers provided an enjoyable musical program.

— Jon C. Rettinger, secretary 


Thank you to all the members who attended the 2017 annual meeting!

$50 bill credit winners

  • Sarah Kersey
  • James Baugh
  • Eugene Janezich
  • Elisabeth Davis
  • Becky Carswell
  • Linda Espich
  • Schylor McCartney
  • Kirk LivenGood
  • Duane Walters
  • Donald Miller Jr.
  • Jerry Hamman
  • Terry Hamman
  • Ronald Dodson
  • Lloyd Anderson
  • Faye McFarland
  • Ruby Gangloff
  • Alan Blocker
  • Jennifer McAfee
  • Roger Jeffers
  • Oliver Dongel

$150 bill credit winners

  • Lisa Robbins
  • Mack Hershberger
  • Thomas Mathewson
  • Eleanor Watkins
  • JMJ Dairy Farm


  • Elisabeth Davis, age 99

OLDEST Gentleman

  • Dr. James Rimel, age 94

Grand prize winner of $500 electric bill credit

  • Robert Ruff

Congratulations to Katherine and Nicholas Kersey who won the Samsung Tab E Lite!

Katherine and Nicholas Kersey