Your co-op is led by you: Director petitions available

Posted on Jan 05 2023 in LaGrange County REMC

If you want to be in the room where decisions regarding the future of the cooperative are made, now is the time. Pick up and complete a petition for a seat on our board of directors.

The board is composed of seven individuals who represent his/her fellow members in his or her respective district. One of those could be you.

There are two districts up for election at this year’s LaGrange County REMC Annual Meeting:

District 1: Currently represented by Michael Huppenthal, this district is made up of the northwest portion of our territory, including all of Van Buren and Lima townships and parts of Newbury and Clay townships.

District 2: Currently represented by Terry Holsinger, this district covers the northeast portion of our territory, including all of Greenfield and Springfield townships, part of Milford Township and the Steuben County extension into Millgrove, Jackson and Salem townships.

To run for election, qualified members of the REMC, who live in Districts 1 or 2 (see map below), must file a petition with the signatures of 50 LaGrange County REMC members supporting the candidacy. 

The REMC will provide the petitions for election, as well as other board information, and completed petitions and biographical information must be returned to the cooperative no later than April 10.

The election will be held online and by mail again this year, with the LaGrange County REMC Annual Meeting taking place virtually on Friday, June 9.

For more information about the board of directors’ election process, stop by the office or call us at 877-463-7165.