Serve your community by running for the board of directors

apply now to become a board candidate

Posted on Mar 07 2021 in LaGrange County REMC

There are only a few weeks left to return your application for a spot on our board of directors. What are you waiting for?

LaGrange County REMC is looking for members who are passionate and hardworking individuals and will bring their experience and perspective to learn how to best serve their fellow co-op members. We’ll teach you the electricity part.

There are three districts up for election this year, and they include:

  • District 1 — Currently represented by Larry Fetters, this district will be up for election as Fetters will be moving off of REMC lines and, therefore, is ineligible to serve. The candidate chosen for this district will serve out the remainder of the term, which ends in 2023. District 1 covers all of Van Buren and Lima townships and parts of Newbury and Clay townships.
  • District 3 — Currently represented by Tony Bontrager, this district is made up of all of Bloomfield Township and the east portion of Clay Township.
  • District 4 — Currently represented by Cliff Hibbs, this district covers the southwest portion of Clay Township; the majority of Eden, Clearspring and Newbury townships; part of Elkhart County’s Clinton Township; and portions of Noble County’s Elkhart and Orange townships.

To run for election, qualified members of LaGrange County REMC, who live in Districts 1, 3 or 4, must file a petition with the signatures of 50 LaGrange County REMC members supporting the candidacy. 

The REMC will provide the petitions for election, as well as other board information, and completed petitions and biographical information must be returned to the cooperative no later than April 9.

The election will be held online and by mail again this year, with the LaGrange County REMC Annual Meeting taking place virtually on Friday, June 11.

For more information about the board of directors’ election process, please call CEO Mark Leu at 877-463-7165..