SEI REMC Annual Meeting goes virtual

Posted on Aug 02 2020 in Southeastern Indiana REMC

For the first time ever, Southeastern Indiana REMC will hold its Annual Meeting virtually. In response to COVID-19, the board of directors unanimously voted to postpone the Annual Meeting, which was originally scheduled to be held in March. As the virus continues to spread, a virtual meeting on Oct. 1, 2020, seems to be the best option for the cooperative and its members.  

“Although we regret that we cannot be together for our Annual Meeting,” said Board President Darrell Smith, “the virtual meeting forum will allow us to conduct the business of the co-op while protecting the health and safety of our members and employees.”  

The shift to an online format promises to change the dynamics of the event in multiple ways. There will be no ice cream, no entertainment, no energy expo and no registration bill credit. But for the first time, people who have never attended the meeting may choose to vote in the director election. The “on demand” videos and “live” broadcast may reach a larger audience.  And the opportunity to try a new format gives everyone a chance to learn and grow from the experience.  Holding a virtual meeting is an important step in enhancing accessibility to our Annual Meeting.  

“On demand” access to meeting content begins at 8 a.m. EDT on Oct. 1 at Here you will find videos and slides from the REMC team, highlighting the progress we have made since our last meeting, programs and services we offer, and a sneak peek at some of the plans we have for 2021 and beyond.  

At 6 p.m. EDT, the business meeting and director election results will be broadcasted live on Facebook.  We welcome and encourage live-commenting and sharing through social media during the meeting, using the hashtag #SEIREMC2020.  A replay of the video will be available for viewing on our website after the meeting.  

As a reminder, we have three director districts up for election this year, districts 1, 7 and 8. All candidates run “at large,” so all members have the opportunity to vote for the candidate of their choice in all three districts.  The candidates from district 1 are Vince Moster, Dan Eckstein and Tony Schwab. Darrell Smith is the only candidate from district 7, and Bonnie Boggs is the only candidate from district 8.  

To be eligible for the prizes, you will need to vote in the director election.  Voting this year will be done by mail and online. Each member will receive a ballot in the mail, along with information about how to vote online if you prefer that method.  

Mark your calendar for Oct. 1 and plan to join us virtually for the 81st Annual Meeting.