Official notice: board election process begins

The Paulding Putnam Electric Cooperative (PPEC) board of trustees consists of nine co-op members who each represent one district within the territory served by PPEC. The trustees are responsible for establishing, reviewing, and revising corporate policies to ensure that service to the PPEC membership is foremost in mind, while maintaining a stable yet competitive position in the industry by setting rate structures.

Each trustee serves a three-year term and either must seek re-election again after the term or retire. Elections are held annually by the membership prior to the annual meeting in March. The upcoming election will be for candidates in districts 3, 7, and 8.

District 3 includes members who reside in Crane, Carryall, Harrison, and Benton townships in Paulding County, Ohio. This position is currently held by Tim Derck, and he will be seeking re-election.

District 7 includes Monroe, Palmer, Liberty, and Greensburg townships in Putnam County, Ohio, and is represented by Ken Niese. He will seek re-election.

District 8 includes members living in Perry, Jackson, Monterey, and Jennings townships in Putnam County, Ohio, as well as Marion Township in Allen County. This seat is currently held by Douglas Fortman who will seek re-election as well.

How to run for the board:

The election process begins with a petition form. Any PPEC member who resides in districts 3, 7, or 8 who wishes to be considered as a trustee candidate may pick up the required petition from the cooperative office or online at

All completed petition forms must be received at the PPEC office no later than Friday, Dec. 15, 2017. Each one will be verified, and only those candidates who have met all requirements will be on the ballot.

The official ballots will be mailed to members in districts 3, 7, and 8 in February. The winners of the election will be announced at the annual meeting on Saturday, March 17, 2018.