Nominations sought for 2020 election

Posted on Sep 30 2019 in Bartholomew County REMC

Have you ever been interested in becoming part of the governing body at Bartholomew County REMC?  BCREMC’s board of directors and nominating comittee members are elected yearly by the members at the annual meeting.

Directors are responsible for establishing, reviewing, and revising corporate policies to ensure that Bartholomew County REMC continues to keep service to the membership foremost in mind, while maintaining a stable, yet competitive, position in the industry by setting rate structures.

Nominating committee members are responsible for finding candidates to run for the board of directors and the committee.  They are also responsible for counting votes and overseeing the election process at the annual meeting.

Each member of the board  and nominating comittee represents one of the seven districts within the territory served by the REMC. Those elected to serve are dedicated people who have the interests of all members and the organization at heart.

The nominating committee of Bartholomew County REMC will meet on Thursday, Nov. 14, at 11:30 a.m. to select candidates for the board of directors and the nominating committee for districts 3 & 6.  Directors and nominating committee personnel will be elected at the BCREMC annual meeting, Thursday, April 7th, 2020, at the Columbus North High School Auditorium.

In 2020, elections will held for Districts 3 & 6. District 3 is the portion of Columbus Township as bounded by State Road 46 and County Road 100 S. on the south, and extending north to 400 N. and west to 500 W. and south to 200 N., east to 400 W. and south to the north side of State Road 46 W.  It also includes the portion of Harrison Township north of 100 S.  Dan Fleming is the current director representing this district and Steve Forster is the nominating committee person.

District 6  is all of Wayne Township, the southwest portion of Columbus Township bounded by the White River on the east and State Road 46 W on the north, and all areas served within Hamilton Township of Jackson County east of the Jackson County Highway which is the continuation of Bartholomew County Road 400 W.   Curt Burbrink is the current director representing this district and John Wischmeier is the nominating committee person. 

Any BCREMC members that have primary residency in these two districts, who wish to be considered as a director or nominating commitee candidate, may contact the office at 812-372-2546, e-mail or contact one of the following members of the nominating committee: Katie Finke, Scott Strietelmeier, Steve Forster, Greg Patterson, Jason Schroer, John Wischmeier or Rachel David.