Minutes from the April 2023 Annual Meeting

Posted on Mar 17 2024 in Daviess-Martin County REMC

Daviess-Martin County REMC’s 83rd annual meeting was held on April 13, 2023, at Barr-Reeve High School, Montgomery, Indiana.

There were 205 members registered that evening for the attendance-only prize drawings, and approximately 400 people were in attendance. Upon arrival, attendees received either an REMC hat or a vegetable peeler.

A video produced by Hoosier Energy Rural Electric Cooperative, Inc. entitled Complex Issues/Cooperative Solutions played as members arrived.

The Barr-Reeve culinary arts class provided walking tacos, hot dogs, and drinks. The Washington High School NJROTC delivered the presentation of colors. The National Anthem and Pledge of Allegiance were led by Board Member August Bauer. Board Member John Edwards gave the invocation. Communications Specialist Becca Hollaway announced the kids’ coloring contest winners. The meeting was called to order by Board Chairman Travis Summers. Board Secretary Amy Burris gave the secretary’s report.

All members who submitted a mail-in or electronic ballot received a $10 electric bill credit. In addition, voting members were entered into bill credit drawings on March 24 and April 5. There were 1,067 voting members. As outlined in the Bylaws, voting members are considered registered members. This was over 2% of the 6,939 REMC membership, resulting in a quorum.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the April 4, 2022, annual meeting minutes. The motion carried.

Corporate attorney Chris Goffinet gave the legal report and director nomination process. He reported that no new nominations were received by petition for those districts where terms were expiring. He stated that incumbents for those districts, Brandt Schuckman, District 3 (Washington and Veale townships in Daviess County) and August Bauer, District 6 (Halbert, Lost River, Rutherford, and Mitcheltree townships in Martin County), in a timely fashion filed a written notice at the office of the corporation stating their intention to seek a seat on the board of directors. Goffinet verified the election results provided by Survey & Ballot Systems, which handled the election process. Goffinet stated that Schuckman and Bauer would serve three-year terms for Districts 3 and 6, respectively.

CEO Ryan Dant spoke on the accomplishments, opportunities, and challenges facing the cooperative.

Guest speaker Chad Bauer spoke about the loss of his son to a fentanyl overdose.

During the meeting, kids were dismissed to a classroom where they watched a live-line safety demo presented by REMC Journeymen Alan Sims and Bob Murphy. Education Specialist Angela Dabney from Hoosier Energy also brought recycling activities for the kids to complete. Barr-Reeve Beta students assisted her.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 7:30 p.m., followed by attendance-only prize drawings. Micah Knepp and Mya Murphy were winners of the children’s bicycles. Sandra Hettle and Marlin and Lana Knepp both won a flat-screen TV, Marvin Wagler won the Orca cooler, Marlin and Martha Wagler were the winners of the cornhole boards made by Shoals Shop Class, and Fred Knepp won the Pit Boss grill. Three bill credits for $250 went to Thomas Summers, Debra Taylor, and Naomi Peoples.