Meet your board candidates

Posted on May 08 2022 in LaGrange County REMC

Every year, as a member of LaGrange County REMC, you have the opportunity to vote for your board of directors. This year includes three uncontested races. 

District 5

C. Shane Rasler currently serves District 5. He has been an REMC member for 24 years and has served on its board of directors since 2016. Rasler attended Purdue University and is the owner of Rasler Insurance Services in LaGrange.  

He holds his Credentialed Cooperative Director certificate from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) and has been LaGrange County REMC’s representative on Wabash Valley Power Alliance board of directors since 2019. 

When asked what he likes about serving on the board, Rasler responded, “I enjoy the challenges that it brings. With the addition of fiber internet, it is an exciting time for LaGrange County. I also like being able to give so much back to the community through programs like Operation Round Up.” In addition, Rasler loves the cooperative model and what it represents.

He is a member of the Woodruff Grove United Methodist Church and the South Milford Lions Club. Rasler enjoys traveling with his family, drag racing and watching his daughters participate in 4-H and sporting events. He and wife Stacie, along with their two daughters, reside in Wolcottville.

District 6

Jeff Brill, secretary of the board, currently serves District 6. He has served on the co-op board since 2004 and has been a member since 2000.

He earned his Credentialed Cooperative Director certificate through NRECA and currently serves as the REMC’s representative for Indiana Electric Cooperatives, the service association for Indiana’s electric cooperatives. 

Brill has been a councilman for LaGrange County since 2016 and is a member of the Wolcottville United Methodist Church, Meridian Sun Lodge #76, Fort Wayne Scottish Rite, Fort Wayne Mizpah Shrine Temple and the LaGrange County Shrine Club. 

He enjoys serving the members of the REMC and is excited to be a part of a cooperative making a commitment to the community by providing fiber-optic service to the county. If re-elected, Brill stated he “will remain an active member of the board and will keep the member-owners’ best interest in mind when making decisions affecting the future of LaGrange County REMC.”

Brill is retired from the LaGrange County Highway Department. He and his wife, Donita, enjoy visiting their son’s family in Louisville whenever they get the chance.

District 7

Roger Domer is the LaGrange County REMC Director for District 7, at large. He has served on the REMC board since April 2003. 

While on the REMC board, Domer has attended training courses and earned his Certified Cooperative Director certificate and Board Leadership Certificate from NRECA. He has lived in the LaGrange REMC’s service territory all his life and has been a member of LaGrange County REMC since 1986.

Domer and his wife, Tonya, have three children and five grandchildren. He is a graduate of Lakeland High School and the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy. 

He has owned and operated RD’s Seawalls & Sidewalks, Inc., since 1989 and has been employed at TC Energy for over 30 years. He is a member of numerous outdoor organizations. He also serves as president of the LaGrange County Sheriff’s Department Merit Board and is the LaGrange County REMC board’s current president.

Domer enjoys serving on the co-op’s board for numerous reasons. “The electric and broadband industries are highly competitive, fast-paced, and always evolving. My position allows me to research modern technologies to bring to LaGrange County REMC members,” Domer noted. He is honored to serve the members of the cooperative and take an active part in developing the vision and future of the LaGrange County REMC Broadband development.

Voting for the board of directors will take place like last year. Members will be mailed ballots by the middle of May. An online voting option is available if you have an email address attached to your account (an email will be sent to you with details).

All ballots must be received by June 9.