Great steaks and more!

Posted on Feb 28 2018 in Indiana Eats

Fans of Johnny V’s Main Street Grille say that this locally owned eatery serves the best steaks in Frankfort, Indiana. But with an extensive menu featuring salads, burgers, sandwiches, pasta, dinner entrees, desserts and more, Johnny V’s makes family dining a breeze for even the pickiest of eaters.

State Rep. Heath VanNatter, who represents the area’s District 38, is one loyal customer who brings his family to the restaurant, located, as its name implies, on Frankfort’s downtown Main Street, across from the courthouse. VanNatter usually opts for the hand-breaded Hoosier Pork Tenderloin sandwich which is served, like all sandwich choices, with steak fries. For just 99 cents more, diners can enjoy onion rings or sweet potato chips with their sandwiches.

Other Johnny V’s regulars rave about the steak and shrimp dinner with two skewers of either grilled or breaded shrimp, and the housemade sugar cream pie, just one of a selection of freshly made desserts. The best time to try a slice of pie? The restaurant’s weekly Free Pie Wednesday.

Besides the tasty food options, Johnny V’s patrons enjoy the comfortable casual atmosphere. Photos of old Frankfort landmarks decorate the walls. The original scoreboard from Frankfort High School’s Howard Hall, the home gymnasium of that school’s quadruple state champion basketball team in the 1920s and ’30s, is also proudly displayed.

During lunchtime, 11 a.m.-3 p.m. on weekdays, Johnny V’s not only serves up daily specials for $6.99 each, but also offers 14 other lunch-sized choices. Dinner is served Monday-Thursday, 4-9 p.m; Friday and Saturday, 4-10 p.m.; and Sunday, 4-8 p.m. The adjoining 21-and-over Sports Pub, which advertises the widest selection of beers on tap in town, is open Monday-Saturday, 11 a.m.-Midnight and Sunday, 11 a.m.-10 p.m.

ABOUT STATE REP. HEATH VANNATTER: Indiana State Rep. Heath VanNatter represents House District 38, which includes portions of Carroll, Cass, Howard and Clinton counties. He serves as chair of the Employment, Labor and Pensions Committee and also is a majority member of the Environmental Affairs and Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications committees.