Get involved!

remc is seeking board candidates

Posted on Dec 18 2017 in LaGrange County REMC

At this year’s LaGrange County REMC Annual Meeting on June 9, members will have the opportunity to vote for individuals to represent them for the following districts:

District 3: All of Bloomfield Township and the east portion of Clay Township, being all of Sections 1, 2, 11, 12, 14, 13, 23, 24, 26, 25, 35, 36. The NW ¼ of

Section 3, and the east ½ of Sections 10, 15, 22, 27, and 34. This district is currently being served by Jeff Hampshire.

District 4: The Southwest portion of Clay Township, being Sections 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, and the west ½ of Sections 15, 22, 27, and 34. All of Eden and Clearspring townships; excluding Sections 25 and 36 Clearspring. All of Newbury, excluding Sections 1, 4, 12, and the north ½ of Section 9 being in District 1. Also including the Elkhart County Extension into Clinton Township, and the Noble County Extension into Elkhart and Orange townships. This district was served by Mark Bontrager (deceased).

Please note — district territories were restructured in 2016. District descriptions and a map can be found at Please refer to your property tax statement to find the township and section you reside within.

The board is comprised of seven individuals who represent the membership in his/her respective districts. Directors set policy and guide the future direction of the cooperative.

Qualified members of LaGrange County REMC, who live in those districts up for election, may seek election by filing a petition with the signatures of 50 LaGrange County REMC members supporting the candidacy.

Petitions for election and other board information will be provided by the REMC. Completed petitions and biographical information must be returned to the REMC no later than April 10.

Qualified candidates will stand for election, with voting upon registration, at the LaGrange County REMC Annual Meeting on Saturday, June 9, at the REMC headquarters.

For additional information concerning the board of directors’ election process, stop by the office or call LaGrange County REMC at 877-463-7165.