Election Committee selects board candidates

Posted on Jun 11 2023 in Heartland REMC

One of the most important parts of Heartland REMC’s annual meeting will be the election of directors to serve a three-year term on the board. This year, there are elections for three board districts — Districts 8, 11 and 31.  

As with other electric co-ops, Heartland REMC members have the right to choose board members who in turn are charged with making major decisions about the direction of the co-op.

Under the co-op’s bylaws, each director is responsible to appoint one member of the Election Committee from their respective district. The Election Committee met April 12 to review and approve the petitions of candidates seeking election to the board.

This year’s Election Committee:

  • Chris Gibson — District 3
  • Ryan Carroll — District 4
  • Ed Thiele — District 6
  • Skip Smalling — District 7
  • Alan Davis — District 8
  • Todd Williams — District 10
  • Tim Engle — District 11
  • Austin Greer — District 31
  • Tom Bucher — District 32
  • Adam Renbarger — District 33
  • Jane Swanquist — District 34
  • Amanda Boggs — District 35

The Nominating Committee reviewed and verified each candidate’s petition. Three petitions were approved. The candidates are:  

Joh Smith | District 8

Alan Schlagenhauf | District 11

Doug Wilcox | District 31

Members registered at the annual meeting will vote for the director candidate of their choice. Directors elected at the annual meeting will guide the cooperative for the next three years. All Heartland REMC members are encouraged to exercise their right to vote by attending the annual meeting on June 24.