Cooperative Calendar of Student Art Contest Winners Named

Posted on May 09 2023 in Features
Justine Ocken -- 2024 Best of Show
Justine Ocken was named artist of the year for this color pencil work. The work was also named best in show.

Indiana’s electric cooperatives and their statewide magazine, Indiana Connection, named the winners of the 26th annual Cooperative Calendar of Student Art Contest. 

Justine Ocken, a high school junior from South Whitley, was named artist of the year for her color pencil work of a horse, rider and a dog wading in an autumn stream. The work was also named Best of Show. A second work by Ocken was awarded an honorable mention. 

A first-place artist was also selected for each grade, K-12. Each will receive $200. Their artwork will illustrate the cover and the 12 months of a 2024 calendar. Thirteen additional artists earned an honorable mention award and $75. These works will appear in a special section of the calendar. A complete list of the contest winners is attached.

“We are proud to recognize and showcase the artistic talents of our youth,” said John Cassady, CEO of Indiana Electric Cooperatives. 

Artwork was judged on artistic merit, originality, creativity and its suitability for a wall calendar. The art contest is open to any Indiana K-12 student. Approximately 2,500 pieces of artwork were entered in this year’s contest. 

The 2024 wall calendar will be available at the offices of participating Indiana electric cooperatives this fall. 

2024 calendar grade division winners

  • Kindergarten: Serenity White, Medora, Indiana
  • First Grade: Hadley Wagner, Jasper, Indiana
  • Second Grade: Rayna Pryor, Flora, Indiana
  • Third Grade: Trinity Messmer, Jasper, Indiana
  • Fourth Grade: Flynn Cissell, Borden, Indiana
  • Fifth Grade: Kaylin Fuller, Charlestown, Indiana
  • Sixth Grade: Chloe Holtke, Seymour, Indiana
  • Seventh Grade: Nandini Kondhare, Columbus, Indiana
  • Eighth Grade: Jenna Merli, Union Mills, Indiana
  • Ninth Grade: Cate Deckena, South Whitley, Indiana
  • 10th Grade: Riley Aebersold, New Albany, Indiana
  • 11th Grade: Justine Ocken, South Whitley, Indiana
  • 12th Grade: Lindsey Todd, Craigville, Indiana

Honorable mention winners

  • Kindergarten: Benton Welp, Jasper, Indiana
  • First Grade: Kinze Campbell, Union Mills, Indiana
  • Second Grade: Arabella White, Medora, Indiana
  • Third Grade: Naiya Hood, Brazil, Indiana
  • Fourth Grade: Lily Fouts, Seymour, Indiana
  • Fifth Grade: Dakota Moon, Brazil, Indiana
  • Sixth Grade: McKenzie Haehl, Shelbyville, Indiana
  • Seventh Grade: Kyla Krouse, Fort Wayne, Indiana
  • Eighth Grade: Viola Reeves, Monrovia, Indiana
  • Ninth Grade: Makenna Krause, South Whitley, Indiana
  • 10th Grade: Taylor Patton, Paoli, Indiana
  • 11th Grade: Justine Ocken, South Whitley, Indiana
  • 12th Grade: Elizabeth Mattos, Kendallville, Indiana