Co-ops work together to judge 4-H Electric projects

Posted on Aug 27 2018 in LaGrange County REMC

Noble REMC Energy Advisor Brian Hawk and System Engineer Kenny Kill speak with Thomas Anders, a 4-H Electric Division 1 participant, at the LaGrange County 4-H Fair. Anders received a blue ribbon for his circuit board.

Concern for community and cooperation among cooperatives are two of our founding principles, and during the recent LaGrange County 4-H Fair, LaGrange County REMC and Noble REMC showcased both.

To serve as unbiased judges, LaGrange County REMC asked Noble REMC Energy Advisor Brian Hawk and System Engineer Kenny Kill to evaluate entries in the 4-H Electric exhibit category at the fair on behalf of the co-op, which is a sponsor of the event. LaGrange County REMC Energy Advisor Jake Taylor reciprocated the gesture by serving as a judge at the Noble County Community Fair.

The duo spent time interacting with 4-H’ers as they reviewed projects and graded them based on workmanship and knowledge of the subject.

Each year, first-year members build circuit boards, second-year members make a “shake” flashlight, third-year members make a trouble light or extension cord and fourth-year and advanced 4-H’ers are allowed to select their own project.

Division 4 members Danessa Hoffman and Jedidiah Kreger were named overall grand champion and overall reserve grand champion, respectively. Hoffman took top prize with her outstanding classical lamp made of glass, wood and decorative stones. Kreger impressed the judges with his industrial-style lamp created from an electrical box, galvanized pipe and electrical outlet with USB charging ports.

2018 4-H Electric project winners


Electric Division 2 Reserve Champion Remington Elliott demonstrates his shake flashlight for judge Kenny Kill at the LaGrange County 4-H Fair.

Division 1
Champion: Austin Abbott
Reserve champion: Charles Beard
Blue ribbon: Thomas Anders, Lane Connett, Dakota Feller, Luke Hall
Red ribbon: Ryan Hartman

Division 2
Champion: Audrianna Martin
Reserve champion: Remington Elliott
Blue ribbon: Katie Rheinheimer

Division 3
Champion: Franklin Billingsley
Reserve champion: Chandler Slone

Division 4
Champion: Danessa Hoffman (overall grand champion)
Reserve champion: Jedidiah Kreger (overall reserve champion)
Red ribbon: William Abbott

Blue ribbon: Wyatt Hanaway

Get involved in 4-H!

LaGrange County REMC encourages youth to get involved in 4-H! In support of 4-H and our members, LaGrange County REMC will reimburse 4-H membership fees for the first 200 youth to enroll. Online enrollment in the 2019 4-H program begins on Oct. 15. Please contact the cooperative at 877-463-7165 or your local Purdue Extension office for more information.