Annual Meeting Snapshots

Members enjoy day dedicated to them

Posted on Aug 25 2017 in Miami-Cass REMC

Annual Meeting Recap

Total attendance at the member appreciation day/annual meeting topped over 700.

The 78th Member Appreciation Day/Annual Meeting was held July 27 at Peru High School. Total attendance at the meeting was over 700 with 321 registered members representing nearly 6.7 percent of the total voting membership.

Members were able to enjoy a BBQ meal provided by Jonesy’s Junction of Akron and entertainment provided by Grace Scott. Members in attendance also received a $15 bill credit and a gift bag filled with various items.

Miami-Cass REMC Director of Member Services Kim Burton welcomed everyone and Pastor Rodney Correll gave the invocation. Scott sang the national anthem.

Don Willson, president of the Miami-Cass REMC board, called the meeting to order and thanked everyone for coming. He commented on the stable and constant element of the REMC workforce, and he mentioned that members are rarely without power — attributing that to the team effort of all Miami-Cass REMC employees. He closed by recognizing the years of service for longtime employees Mike Long, Chuck Lewis, Scott Richardson, Karen Chester and Jack Kellems.

Miami-Cass REMC CEO Rob Schwartz then addressed the members (see highlights on page 17).

This member proudly casts his vote for the board of directors at the meeting.

Scott Bowers, vice president of government relations for Indiana Electric Cooperatives (IEC), outlined the services that IEC provides to the co-op and discussed the legislative and policy successes that have been accomplished this year.

Andrew Horstman, manager of load response for Wabash Valley Power, provided an update on the Co-op Solar program discussing what it is, why it is offered and what a member can get from it.

The meeting was concluded with the board of directors election results (see below), selection of scholarship winners and winners of $500 and $100 bill credits and a smoker.

Director election results

District 1 – Todd Smith
District 4 – James (Tony) Caldwell

Congratulations to our prize drawing winners.

Prize winners
$500 winner — Ronald Browning Sr.
$100 winners — Richard Beam, Ronald Childers, Theresa Harvey, Ralph Jeffers and Marsha Foltz
Smoker — Kurtis Moore