Annual meeting recap

Posted on May 31 2018 in Southern Indiana Power


A young member enjoys a bucket truck ride at our 79th annual meeting on April 17.

The 79th annual meeting was held at the Spencer County Youth and Community Center on April 17.

More than 525 members registered, and we issued 943 meal tickets for members and their families. Over 160 children attended and entered their names for the kids’ prize drawing.

For those of you who missed the meeting, I’ll give a brief recap of events. The annual meeting featured attractions for all ages. Young members enjoyed pony rides, face painting and bucket truck demonstrations. Children could also register to win Holiday World & Splashin’ Safari tickets.

Members talked with Southern Indiana Power employees about energy efficiency, watched a live electric line demo and played bingo. Food, ice cream, soft drinks and popcorn were provided throughout the evening.

During the business meeting, Randy Kleaving and Kevin Waninger were re-elected to represent districts 5 and 6. Joe Boesing of Monroe Shine reviewed the 2017 financial report.

During my report, I recognized our employees for receiving the NRECA national standard of “safety achievement” annually since 2008. I also gave an update on the co-op’s capital credit retirement program. In 2017, we paid back over $325,000 in capital credits to members who received electric service between 1990-1992. I also informed members that the board of directors authorized the payout of estates effective immediately. This change applies to both former and future estates.

This year, I recognized our local students who are representing Southern Indiana Power on the Indiana Youth Tour to Washington, D.C., and the Touchstone Energy Camp. More details about these students will be published in later issues of the Electric Consumer.

I wrapped up my comments by updating members on planned system improvements, upcoming regional member meetings, an electric rate forecast and member energy efficiency savings programs. We also showed videos that updated members on the electric industry as well as the efforts Indiana Electric Cooperatives has made in Guatemala with Project Indiana.

Gary Waninger, Operation Round Up board chairman, presented the March 2018 ORU grant recipients. A list of recipients is on page 8.

The meeting ended with a drawing for door prizes. Bonnie Lain won the $500 grand prize. There were also four winners of $250 cash, five winners of $100 cash and 10 winners of $50 cash. Lydia Fromme and Payton Engelbrecht won the children’s prizes. The 16 members who won bingo each received an energy efficiency kit. For a complete prize listing, please visit our website or give us a call at the office.

STEVE SEIBERT is president/CEO of Southern Indiana Power.