2022 KV REMC Annual Meeting Minutes

Posted on Sep 01 2023 in Kankakee Valley REMC

The 2022 Annual Meeting of the membership of the Kankakee Valley Rural Electric Membership Corporation was held at the Porter County Expo Center in Valparaiso, Porter County, Indiana, on the 16th day of June, 2022. A catered meal was served to the members beginning at 4:30 p.m. CST by REMC employees and board members. Live music was presented on the indoor stage beginning at 5 p.m. The business meeting, which was scheduled to begin at 7:30 p.m. CST pursuant to notice provided to each member of the cooperative, was revised to start at 7 p.m. CST pursuant to notice and opportunity to object to the members present. The business meeting included the announcement of board members for a new three-year term, and prizes were awarded.

A copy of the proof of mailing of the Notices and Secretary’s Affidavit is appended as EXHIBIT A at the end of these minutes and was included in the June Indiana Connection magazine mailed to the membership and the member program available at the meeting.

The business meeting opened, and the first matter of business was the consideration of the notice of the meeting. The reading of the Notice of the Meeting to Members as provided in Bylaw Art. III, Sec. 3, was waived and dispensed with after a motion duly made and seconded carried on a unanimous vote. The next item on the agenda was the reading of the minutes of the 2021 annual meeting. On motion duly made and seconded, the membership resolved to waive reading of the minutes. Then, on motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the 2021 annual meeting were approved as printed in the program, on vote. A count of the members present for the meeting showed that a quorum was reached pursuant to Bylaw Art.

IV, Sec. 4(d). A total of 483 members appeared in person at the annual meeting.

CEO Scott Sears provided a co-op update that included information on the fiber optic project, the growing electrical demand, a new metering system and how the co-op is mitigating supply chain and inventory issues. Additionally, a video message from Wabash Valley Power Alliance CEO Jeff Conrad provided a power supply industry update.

Corporate Counsel Tim Krsak advised the membership during the meeting that there were two directors’ seats up for election at this annual meeting for terms of three years each or until their successor shall be duly elected and qualified. The candidates were selected by obtaining nominations by petition pursuant to the bylaws of the cooperative.

Because there was only one eligible member running for each of the two (2) board seats, in accordance with Bylaw Art. IV, Sec. 4, no vote was held, and each board candidate was elected by motion made and duly seconded by the members at the Annual Meeting. On motion duly made and seconded, Chris Birky was duly elected to the position of Director of District 1 for the ensuing three years. On motion duly made and seconded, Dean Moretton was duly elected to the position of Director of District 2 for the ensuing three years.

CEO Sears announced prize winners, which included anyone whose registration card was selected, regardless of whether or not the member was present at the time of the drawing.

The chairman called for any other business or new business to be brought to the attention of the membership; there being none, the meeting was duly adjourned.


Secretary’s Affidavit of Mailing of the Notice of the 2022 Annual Meeting
State of Indiana, County of LaPorte

I, Bill Bohling, being first duly sworn, upon his oath deposes and says: That I am the duly elected and qualified Secretary of the Kankakee Valley Rural Electric Membership Corporation, hereinafter called the Cooperative.

That on the 27th day of April, 2022, I had mailed to each member-consumer of the Cooperative, to the addresses as they appear on the records of the Cooperative, a notice of the annual meeting of the member-consumers to be held on June 16, 2022, by depositing such notice with postage prepaid thereon and addressed as aforesaid in the United States mail. The total number of member-consumers receiving notice of the annual meeting on said date was 16,838.

Subscribed and sworn to Bill Bohling, Secretary, before me this 27th day of April.

Alissa Tucker, Notary Public County of Resident, LaPorte My commission expires February 2030.