2021 board of directors candidates

Posted on May 05 2021 in LaGrange County REMC

Every year, as a member of LaGrange County REMC, you have the opportunity to vote for your board of directors. This year includes one contested race and two uncontested races. 

District 1

This position was previously held by Larry Fetters who retired in March.

Michael Huppenthal is running for the vacant position in District 1. He was raised in Schererville, Indiana, and moved to LaGrange in 1993. Huppenthal is the pipeline technician for TC Energy. 

He was an active member of the LaGrange Jaycees and held elected positions within the organization. Huppenthal is currently a life member of the Sons of the American Legion Post 215 where he held elected positions. In 2003, he was a recipient of the LaGrange Volunteer Fire Department Life Saver Award. Huppenthal enjoys coaching youth sports and volunteering in the community. He and his wife, Rachel, have three children and live in Howe.

Benjamin Parish is also running for the vacant position in District 1. He currently serves as the LaGrange County Highway Department superintendent. 

Parish is a Westview Jr./Sr. High School and Glen Oaks graduate. He is the vice commander for the Sons of the American Legion Post 215, a member of the Fraternal Order of the Eagles Aerie 1314 and a member of the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation. 

Parish enjoys hunting, fishing, camping with friends and family and going to NASCAR and drag races. He and his wife, Jaime, have four children and live in Howe.

District 3

Tony Bontrager represents members in District 3 and serves on the cooperative’s finance committee and has earned his Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificate from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA).

Bontrager is a graduate of Ball State University and works as an employee benefits consultant with RE Sutton & Associates. He also serves the community as secretary of the LaGrange County Community Foundation and attends New Life Fellowship in Topeka where he helps lead its Men’s Ministry.

He enjoys traveling, biking, swimming, and games with his kids. Bontrager, wife Lauren, and their four children live in LaGrange.

District 4

Cliff Hibbs represents members from District 4 (Clay West and Newbury townships) and has served on the cooperative’s board since January 2018. 

Hibbs is currently an officer with the LaGrange County Sheriff’s Department. He, wife Sandy, and their family reside near Shipshewana.  The family are members of New Life Fellowship.

He enjoys camping, working on classic vehicles and spending time with family in his spare time.

Voting for the board of directors will take place like last year. Members will be mailed ballots by the middle of this month. An online voting option is available if you have an email attached to your account (an email will be sent to you with details).

All ballots must be received by end of the day on June 9.