2019 KVREMC Annual Meeting Minutes

Posted on Aug 28 2020 in Kankakee Valley REMC

The 2019 Annual Meeting of the membership of the Kankakee Valley Rural Electric Membership Corporation was held at the Porter County Expo Center in Valparaiso, Porter County, Indiana, on the 18th day of June 2019. A catered meal was served beginning at 4:30 p.m. CDT. The live show in the entertainment tent featuring 45 RPM, an Indianapolis cover band, played outdoors from 5 to 7:30. In Expo East members played bingo from 5-7:30 with prizes awarded. A year in review video played in the Entertainment Tent shown at all venues inside and outside. From 5-8 p.m. Glitter Tatoos and Balloon Art for the kids entertained at the outdoor children’s area while the Grandpa Cratchet kids show also entertained the members’ children.  

Attorney Hurley announced the members appointed to serve as election inspectors and called same to meet. The election inspectors that were appointed to gather and count the votes and certify the election were as follows:

  • Edward Marks
  • Ronald Pressel

The business meeting began at 7:30 p.m. CDT, pursuant to notice provided to each member of the Corporation included the announcement of Election results and prizes awarded. 

A copy of the proof of mailing of the Notices and Secretary’s Affidavit is appended as EXHIBIT A, at the end of these minutes and was included in the member program distributed to each member who appeared and registered at the meeting. 

The business meeting opened and the first matter of business was the consideration of the notice of the meeting. The reading of the Notice of the Meeting to Members as provided in Bylaw Art. III Sec. 3, was waived and dispensed with after a motion duly made and seconded carried on a unanimous voice vote. The next item on the agenda was the reading of the minutes of the 2018 annual meeting. On motion duly made and seconded, the membership resolved to waive reading of the minutes. Then, on motion duly made and seconded the minutes of the 2018 annual meeting were approved as printed in the program, on voice vote.  This was the first year that the Board approved early voting which was available by mail or online and ended June 13, 2019. The amendment to the enabling law provides a person who intended their vote be counted at the annual meeting, are also counted for purposes of a quorum. The preliminary report, once made available, showed a quorum was reached during the online and vote by mail balloting. Moreover, 605 members also appeared in person at the annual meeting. Bylaw Art. IV Sec. 4(d). 

The membership had been advised during the early voting period and at the annual meeting that there were two directors’ seats up for election at this annual meeting for terms of three years each or until their successor shall be duly elected and qualified. The candidates were selected by obtaining nominations by petition pursuant to the bylaws of the cooperative. 

All members had been giving instructions to carry out the membership voting. Voting could be accomplished online, by mail and in person at the meeting.   

In accordance with Bylaw Art. IV the following candidates were nominated for election by petition in Districts 1 and 2.  

District 1:

  • Christian Birky (Unopposed)
  • District 2: David Janney
  • Dean Moretton

Due to an amendment to Bylaw Art. IV Sec. 4(d), Christian Birky, by virtue of his being unopposed was elected by the membership on voice vote. On motion duly made and seconded, Christian Birky was duly elected to the position of Director of District 1 for the ensuing three years. 

The election inspectors, aided by KVREMC employees, counted the votes cast for the election in District 2 where David Janney and Dean Moretton were on the ballot by virtue of their nomination. Ballots were counted and added to the premeeting voting and the total results showed: David Janney, 1065 votes, and Dean Moretton, 1460 votes. Thus, Mr. Moretton was duly elected director on the Board of Directors for District 2 for the ensuing three years or until their successors have been elected and qualified.

The results of the election to the board for District 2 were duly certified by the Election Inspectors and the prevailing candidates are as reported above. 

The Certificate of Election Inspectors is available to member-consumers upon request at the KV REMC office.  

CEO Sears announced prize winners which included anyone whose ticket was selected regardless of whether or not present at the time of the drawing. Cash prizes were awarded among those who signed up for being the oldest and youngest at the meeting. 

The chairman called for any other business or new business to be brought to the attention of the membership; there being none, the meeting was duly adjourned.  

Otto Werner, Board President
Chairman of the Meeting

Susan Bachert, Secretary of the Board
Secretary of the Meeting

The foregoing proceedings were held June 18, 2019 at Porter County Expo Center, Valparaiso, Porter County, IN.

Mailing affadavit for 2019 annual meeting minutes