2019 annual meeting recap

Posted on Jun 24 2019 in Noble REMC

Noble REMC held its annual meeting and picnic June 1, where members elected Jay Wysong to represent District 1. He takes over the board seat previously held by Bob Lortie. Lortie recently retired from the board after building a home outside of the district.

Incumbent Directors Rick Robertson (District 2) and Doug Burnworth (District 8), who ran unopposed, were re-elected to their seats.

In his address, CEO Ron Raypole emphasized the cooperative’s continued innovation in investigating rural broadband, constructing a solar array in partnership with our power provider and staying connected to members through mobile apps and social media.

With about 2,000 in attendance, members viewed several displays from Energy Advisor Brian Hawk, including an onsite electric vehicle. Attendees were also provided information on how to earn cash back through our Power Moves® energy-efficiency program.

Wabash Valley Power Alliance, our power supplier, provided information about Co-op Solar, our community solar program, and Indiana Connection hosted a booth with information about the magazine.

Several local organizations participated in the event, including Chain O’Lakes State Park, Noble County Sheriff’s Department, Noble County Extension Service, Noble County Public Library, Drug Free Noble County, Mid-America Windmill Museum, Noble County Convention & Visitors Bureau and the Gene Stratton-Porter Historical Society.

The Time Travelers entertained the crowd with live music, and children enjoyed activities provided by clowns, bounce houses and Indiana Wild’s exotic animals. Children also received free IDs, courtesy of the Ligonier Police Department.

For photos from the 2019 annual meeting, go to https://www.indianaconnection.org/annual-meeting-snapshots-5/